No more auto-sync between Google Drive and Google Photos from July
Google Drive and Photos will no more automatically sync and upload the data from 10 July 2019. You will need to manually add the selected photos and videos to upload on Drive or to include in Photos.
Google Drive and Photos will no more automatically sync and upload the data from 10 July 2019. Also, photos and videos available on Google Drive and Google Photos will not be automatically shown in the photos folder. You will need to manually add the selected photos and videos to upload on Drive or to include in Photos.
These changes are brought in order to avoid the confusion in the accidental deletion of items from Photo memory and Google Photos both. These changes in features are to simplify the confusion of connection between the google photos and photos folder items.
"We’ve heard feedback that the connection between these services is confusing, so next month, we’re making some changes to simplify the experience across Drive and Photos," said a blog on Google by Dan Schlosser and Jason Gupta, Product Manager of Google drive and Google photos respectively.
Google's new feature called, "Upload from drive", allows users to manually choose photos and videos from drive to import into photos folder. There will be no connection between google photos and photos folder after the uploading items from drive to photos folder.
Now onward, if you will delete some photos from your photo folder, it won't be deleted from the google photos and vice versa.
The blog said, "Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos. If you have a “Google Photos” folder in Drive, it will remain in Drive, but will no longer update automatically."