Jun 12, 2023, 07:06 PM IST

10 Indian cities whose names have been changed 

ZeeBiz Webdesk

The renaming of Indian cities began in 1947 after the end of the British Raj. Many states and regions have been renamed since. How many such changes can you recall? 

From Thiru–Kochi to Kerala  

The name of the Travancore-Cochin state, also known as Thiru–Kochi, which came about following the merger of former kingdoms Travancore and Cochin in 1949, was changed to Kerala in 1956. 

From Bombay to Mumbai

ombay's name was changed to Mumbai in 1996, deriving its name from Mumba- the name of the patron Goddess. 

From Madras to Chennai 

The change was brought about in 1996. 

From Calcutta to Kolkata 

Calcutta was renamed Kolkata in 2001 after a bill was passed "in consideration of the historical, social and cultural aspects of the state and its capital city." 

From Pondicherry to Puducherry 

In September 2006, Pondicherry’s name was changed to Puducherry. 

From Bangalore to Bengaluru 

Often touted as the IT capital of India, Bangalore was rechristened Bangaluru in November 2006.

From Orissa to Odisha 

Until March 2011, Odisha was spelled as Orissa. 

From Mysore to Mysuru 

In 2014, Mysore was renamed Mysuru. 

From Mangalore to Mangaluru 

The chief port city of Karnataka was renamed Mangaluru in 2014. 

From Allahabad to Prayagraj 

The name of Allahabad, originally spelled Ilahabad, was changed to Prayagraj in October 2018. 

From Gurgaon to Gurugram 

In April 2016, Gurgaon was renamed as Gurugram. 

Images: Pexels