Now, you can delete Google Web and App activity data for up to 18 months; Here's how
For the selected period, the data will be saved and after that period the data will be deleted. One can delete web and app activities from a period ranging from three to 18 months. If you select three months, then all of their data with Google will be deleted after this period.
Various updates were announced at the recently concluded Google I/O. Among new features was auto delete controls for Web and App Activity for Google accounts. The feature lets users manually control the period for which they want their data with Google. For the selected period, the data will be saved and after that period the data will be deleted. One can delete web and app activities from a period ranging from three to 18 months. If you select three months, then all of their data with Google will be deleted after this period.
Steps to follow
1. Log in to your Google Account.
2. Enter Web & Activity tab.
3. Select “Choose to delete automatically” option.
4. 3 options will be displayed
“Keep until I delete manually”;
“Keep for 18 months then delete automatically”;
“Keep for 3 months them delete automatically”.
5. If selected first option then your data will be kept safe with Google until you do it manually.
6. If you have selected the second option, all your data will be deleted after 18 months, while with the third option the data will be deleted in 3 months.
Google does not delete your data and it is stored on its servers. However, users should understand that the data will only be deleted after the expiry date, say three or 18 months, depending on which options they have selected.
Google will also bring an auto-delete option for Location History in the coming weeks.
Get Latest Business News, Stock Market Updates and Videos; Check your tax outgo through Income Tax Calculator and save money through our Personal Finance coverage. Check Business Breaking News Live on Zee Business Twitter and Facebook. Subscribe on YouTube.