Google+ shut down: Here is how to archive your data
Google on its support website stated, "If you previously deleted your Google+ account or your Google+ page, we informed you that your photos and videos from Google+ would continue to appear in your Album Archive and your Google+ Events content wouldn’t be deleted."
Search engine giant Google is shutting down its social network platform Google+ which somehow managed to stick around for good eight years. Google decided to shut the place down after a couple of data breaches were uncovered. The process started by preventing the creation of new profiles, pages, communities and events in February 2019, and now Google will start deleting all accounts and pages, together with all the information residing within photos, videos, and stuff like that, said ITProPortal.
Those who have valuable data that you'd like to save from the platform, Google has created step-by-step archiving instructions which you can find on the link: https://support.google.com/plus/answer/1045788
You can also download Google+ data for deleted Google+ accounts. Google on its support website stated, "If you previously deleted your Google+ account or your Google+ page, we informed you that your photos and videos from Google+ would continue to appear in your Album Archive and your Google+ Events content wouldn’t be deleted."
"We will begin deleting this content on April 2, 2019. If you want to keep this content, download it using the above instructions before April 2019. Note: Photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted," it added.
The search engine also informed as to what is happening:
1. On April 2, 2019 we are shutting down the consumer (personal) version of Google+, a social network by Google.
2. If you want, you can download and save your Google+ data; this may take time so get started before March 31, 2019.
3. If you have a G Suite Account, as part of your work or school, you can continue to use Google+ within your organization.
4. No other Google products (such as Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive, YouTube) will be shut down as part of the consumer Google+ shutdown. The Google Account you use to sign in to these services will remain.
5. You can delete your Google+ account before the consumer Google+ shutdown.
Earlier Google informed that "a new version of the Google+ Android app was released on February 21, 2019. All Android users will need to update to this Google+ Android app immediately to continue using the app. Old versions of the app will no longer be supported."
Watch this Zee Business Video
Therefore, users can still use Google+ on their mobile web browser at plus.google.com, but on April 2, 2019, "we are shutting down the consumer (personal) version of Google+," it added.