A more WhatsApp like Facebook Messenger for Android, iOS users! Check benefits of latest update
Now, after months of testing, Facebook has rolled out the 'unsend or delete' message feature for selected regions as of now.
WhatsApp is a rage and Facebook Messenger is desperately looking to turn into its clone! Well, almost. Facebook Messenger has just brought some good news for its users. If you have ever used Facebook Messenger, you might have thought to 'unsend or delete' a message that you had mistakenly sent to your Messenger contacts. However, none was available. Much to everyone's relief, the same has been rolled out now and it uncannily similar to WhatsApp.
Now, after months of testing, Facebook has rolled out the 'unsend or delete' message feature for selected regions as of now. It will be gradually rolled out for all users. To start with, the feature is being provided to users in Colombia, Poland, Bolivia, and Lithuania.
What is good about the feature is that the user will be able to remove the sent message even up to 10 minutes of sending it. Just like WhatsApp, the Facebook Messenger users will have two options - ‘Remove for Everyone’ and ‘Remove for You.’
If you opt for ‘Remove for Everyone’, neither you nor the receiver/s will be able to see the message. However, if you select 'Remove for You', the message will be removed from your chat history only. However, Facebook will keep the message in its database for some time to check if it has been marked for abuse.
The feature will be available to both - Android and iOS users and is aimed at putting the user in total control of their message.
Watch This Zee Business Video
However, once deleted, you won't be able to retrieve the message again. So, if you want to hide a message from your inbox, but not delete it, you should archive it.